PETRONAS Team De Rooy IVECO places two trucks in Top 10 in the first half of the Dakar 2022 rally

Tuesday 11th January 2022

PETRONAS Team De Rooy IVECO places two trucks in Top 10 in the first half of the Dakar 2022 rally

The PETRONAS Team De Rooy IVECO has tackled the challenge of the sandy tracks of the Dakar 2022 Rally with grit, achieving placements in the Top 10 throughout the first half of the race.

Janus van Kasteren performed consistently throughout the first half of the race, finishing Stages 3 and 4 with an excellent 3rd place, and Stage 5 in 5th. In Stage 6, he had a small set back early on, taking a wrong path because of the dust, and later a flat tyre, which cost him some time, he arrived in 8th place. However, he is satisfied with the overall results of the first week, which he closed with a 4th place in the overall standings, and is taking on the second week with renewed determination.

Vick Versteijnen is also very satisfied with his IVECO truck and the performance in the first week of the rally. He finished the Stage 6 in 10th place, expertly handling the dangerous tracks of the beginning of the Special. He particularly enjoyed the high dunes of the last section, the excellent collaboration with navigator Tuen van Dal and mechanic Randy Smits.

Michel van den Brink, behind the wheel of the team’s fast assistance truck, has also been performing very well, with navigator Richard Mouw and mechanic Bert van Donkelaar. The 19-year-old, who is only in his second Dakar Rally as a driver, is exceeding expectations and has achieved his best result in Stage 6 with an excellent

11th place. He is delighted with the IVECO Trakker, which has enabled him to keep a fast pace in order to be available to provide assistance to the team’s trucks if necessary.

Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO started the second week of the Dakar Rally in a strong position and with a positive outlook, ready to take on the challenges of the dunes and mountains.



#504 PETRONAS Team De Rooy IVECO:

Janus vanKasteren(NLD)),MarcelSnijders(NLD),DarekRodewald(POL